Watermelon Feta Orzo Salad

Have you ever had watermelon and feta cheese together? If not, do so immediately. Even if you’re not a fan of feta, there’s something about the sweetness of watermelon that cuts the sourness in the cheese and suddenly there’s a party in your mouth. Ask my brother, who will only eat feta if it’s paired with watermelon.

Randomly, I found this recipe in a Weight Watchers booklet a friend passed along. I think a serving is like 3 points or something. I don’t know much about the point system but I think 3 points is low right? It was really easy and the Husband even said “it’s an adult take on mac and cheese,” which I’m assuming has to do with the orzo, which is a type of Italian pasta that looks more like rice and is delicious by the way so try it immediately.

Watermelon feta orzo recipe:

2 cups seedless watermelon cubed
1 cup orzo, cooked and cooled
1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 cup chopped parsley or basil
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook orzo like you would any pasta, drain and let cool. Toss with watermelon, cheese and parsley. Drizzle with a little extra virgin olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “Watermelon Feta Orzo Salad

  1. this looks amazing – found your blog from mstwirlyskirts and it looks like you like to drink as much as i do so im glad that i did xx

  2. Ann says:

    I had this combo for the first time this summer, and you are right! It is a party in your mouth! It was served to me with just the watermelon and feta. I think about it at least once a week now. Yum!!!

  3. Julip Made says:

    Umm yes. It is like you read my mind and took my favorite summer salad (watermelon, feta and arugula) and turned it into my favorite food group… pasta. Think will be made asap. I’m glad I’m reading your blog with glass of wine in hand and dinner in belly… otherwise I’d be drooling/ stomach gurgling all over the place.

  4. This looks amazing. I have some feta in the fridge right now that’s looking for some food friends. Perfect recipe 🙂

  5. This sounds SO good!! Yum.

  6. easy peasy and delish! done and done. fresh directing ingredients now. 🙂

  7. making this this weekend! with a glass of white wine. yummmm.

  8. Yum!! Love this traditional Greek recipe! Did you see the Rue spread from Issue 6 that had a bunch of similar Turkish recipes? Loved it and going to try a few soon!

  9. i’ve never had this combo before ~ my husband won’t go near feta, like most men ~ so i need to try this! your photos are excellent 😉
    xo ~ kristina

  10. elizabeth says:

    I have never heard of this combination! You are so adventurous and creative my friend…
    E

  11. Printing this out now! Reminds me again, that True Food Kitchen has a watermelon and heirloom tomato salad with goat cheese. Delish!!

  12. designstiles says:

    Nom nom nom. No, I have not had watermelon and feta and if I had both I would indeed eat it immediately. Maybe this weekend. After and during some wine. 🙂

  13. danielle says:

    ohhhh. this looks fancy.

    ok — did you not see weeds on monday?? it was quite possibly one of my favorite episodes ever. or i suppose the last 2 min were 2 of my favorite minutes. i think it may get GOOD again. last season sucked. it was just awful. this season has been eh. but i feel like it might get good again.

    and YES. planning some chicago posts next week. monday is my 1 year anniversary in chicago.

Leave a comment