Marilyn or Brigitte?

I allowed myself one small glass of wine with my dinner last night. Life got slightly more interesting during that hour.

In other news, I’ve been working with Irene to add a little oomph to my living room and dining room. That gurrl is magical. Despite the stupid requirements I’ve set (low budget, no painting, low budget, must keep giant sectional for The Husband) she’s already managed to make my place look more Rue and less Trading Spaces. New pieces are starting to arrive and fabrics are being determined. Next up, I need to make a decision on the large piece of art I plan to put over the couch against my black wall. Here are the ones in the running.

The first two are photographs of Marilyn Monroe by Lawrence Schiller and the last is of Brigitte Bardot on the set of Et Dieu Créa la Femme (which translates to “And God Created Women”). All would be framed in white.

Which one is your favorite?

Tagged , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Marilyn or Brigitte?

  1. Kristen says:

    I can only imagine the face of my mother in law if I were to have #3 in our living room! lol. If you can get away with it than go for it, but I wouldn’t be so brave. I would lean toward #1 or #2.

  2. LAST ONE LAST ONE LAST ONE!

    Oh how I wish Irene was helping me, jells

  3. Gabriela says:

    If it were possible to photoshop the creepy man holding…a book?…from the background, I’d say the last. But he is very distracting, and has terrible posture. The first Marilyn is so sweet and innocent but still sexy. And omg, those eyebrows!

  4. I bet that one glass hit you hard!🙂 Ummmm… which one??? Gosh, I love them all… #3 is raw and mysterious! I dig it!

  5. mini says:

    #3! Sure she’s nude, but it’s a great image. Plus, you’re young, hip, and risque (ok, maybe not the last part ;)… anyway, you can always replace that in a few years time when you have little ones and PTA meetings at your house – zzzzz.

  6. LOVE the first one! (and your bloggity-blog)

  7. PhotoGirl says:

    I was a big Brigitte fan until I discovered that she’d turned into a raving, racist, right-wing lunatic. She’s even been fined by the French government for some of her disturbingly racist comments. So for that reason alone, I’d go with Marilyn.

  8. Brigette for sho! Ohh i can’t wait to see what irene has up her sleeve. within 5 minutes irene transformed my living room from rearranging!

  9. iris says:

    Omg I’m so jelous you’ve painted a wall black. My babe is against it because he says when we move, he is not painting it back to white…oh poo. Anyway, #2 is super sweet, but I have to go with #1 too. It would look amazing on a black wall…and very artsy. Can’t wait to see what it will look like. Xo

  10. alexa says:

    Number 1. Brigitte is super sexy though.

  11. Brigitte for defs.
    Weird to say, but I’m not a fan of images with eyes in my living room. Feels too human and creepy. Less like art. But that’s my personal opinion.

  12. I vote for #1! I think it is fun:)

  13. Lisa McGough says:

    I love the first photograph. Marilyn looks (to use your word) “magical”. I think it would look AMAZING over your sofa. Brigitte is so gorgeous but the shadow of the dude behind her would get old.

  14. elizabeth says:

    Hey girl – just my honest opinion for you…I think the first would blur out to a big blob of gray – not enough contrast and the last is super cool but nudity over the sofa is uncomfy for lots of people. The second of Marilyn is cheeky, stunning, and lovely…Happy decorating!
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  15. Lauren says:

    I love the Marilyn ones. The water in the first one would look pretty amazing blown up against a black wall. Please post “after” photos!

  16. glamourshoes says:

    Brigitte, definitely!!! Gorgeous!

  17. designstiles says:

    Thanks for the shout out. Can’t wait to get your place looking prettier. You know I love all three!

  18. The NOW says:

    Such a tough call! I’d saw Brigitte… They are both gorge but I like that Brigitte is French and not crazy! haha

  19. Neda says:

    How exciting! I love the last one.🙂

  20. kristina says:

    The first one!! Though I’m a bit more of a Brigitte fan, Marilyn is always gorgeous!
    xo

  21. I have to say the last one because it’s daaaaaamn Brigitte looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

