Mini Quinoa Patties and Cleanse Day 3

It’s day 3 of the cleanse and I feel amazing. My skin is glowing, my tummy is taut and I have so much energy. Just kidding. I feel like shit. The only positive so far is that the detox drink is starting to taste a lot like a jalapeno margarita.

Last week (before I was eating raw vegan) I made these mini quinoa patties. They are so freaking good. I ate them for lunch, dinner and in between lunch and dinner. I highly recommend.

Mini Quinoa Patties (adapted from Super Natural Every Day)

1 1/4 cooked quinoa, at room temperature
2 large eggs, beaten
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh chives
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 cup seasoned whole grain bread crumbs (I used garlic and herb)
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Combine the quinoa, eggs, and salt in a medium bowl. Stir in the chives, cheese, and garlic. Add the bread crumbs, stir, and let sit for a few minutes so the crumbs can absorb some of the moisture.  Make small patties (around 2 inches in diameter, 1 inch in height), they don’t have to be perfect – just make small balls using your hands then gently flatten.

Heat the oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium-low heat.  Add the patties and cook (covered) for about 10 minutes, or until the bottoms are deeply browned. Flip the patties and cook for 7 minutes, or until golden.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Mini Quinoa Patties and Cleanse Day 3

  1. Never met a quinoa I didn’t like. Need to try these! I’ve been going thru an unhealthy stage lately which is unexpected since I should be dieting for my sis-in-law’s wedding on Saturday. Ack.

  2. These look quite delicious. Cleanses are tough – hang in there!

  3. designstiles says:

    You almost got me on the glowing skin. I was thisclose to considering a cleanse. Is it cruel of me to tell you I just finished my second glass of wine?🙂

  4. Haha, you crack me up… you had me there, lady! This is commitment, and I can’t wait to hear how everything goes when your done… seriously, why can’t I have that commitment to my health quality?! I started that damn Body by Vi kick… those shakes… like 2 weeks ago… 2 shakes a day and you’d think I drop a pound… or two…😦 notta

  5. love your candidness – and these look yummers!

  6. alexa says:

    Oh my goodness those look good. And I agree with Belen. Thanks for keeping it real girl. I always get so mad when girls are like I love drinking seaweed and look I’m running 5 miles a day and it’s so fabulous! Haha. Good for you though…it will pay off.

  7. OMG these look amazing. Love me some quinoa.

  8. Julip Made says:

    I agree with Belen. I’ll let you be the Guinea pig to see if it works and then possibly use it after my vacation. Although can’t you actually make jalapeno margs and that count? Vinegar and alcohol are pretty close, right?

  9. elizabeth says:

    I have never eaten quinoa and doubt I ever will, but since the bottom pic looks like crabcakes I will say this looks delish. So proud of you staying on this gaggy cleanse!
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  10. Belen Otero says:

    These look delicious! And I am so glad you are being honest and not saying you feel energized! happy! amazing! from the cleanse. I hate when people are overly enthusiastic when they do a cleanse. You are keeping it real girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

