Baby Bird

On Saturday morning I was taking a lazy stroll with Poppy when I noticed a tiny ball of fluff on the sidewalk. After closer inspection, I realized it was a baby bird that had fallen out of its nest. My heart broke you guys.

I ran home, grabbed my camera and proceeded to look like a lunatic taking photos of cement. I was also screaming at passerbys who came too close to stepping on my precious bird. I decided to rescue her.

I ran home again, Googled “what to do if you find a baby bird who has fallen out of its nest” and discovered that under no circumstances should I keep the bird as a pet. I could, however, try to put her back in her nest. I ran back to my bird determined to find the nest and save her life, but she wasn’t there. I shed a tear, said a small prayer for my bird and sulked all the way home. I will keep you in my heart forever little one.

photos via myself

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Baby Bird

  1. franvis says:

    This little wren looks quite ok. I think (s)he just left the nest. See here: http://www.wallwork.me.uk/garden/wrens_large.jpg
    and read: http://www.wallwork.me.uk/garden.html

    Nice blog!

  2. Awwww! There was an injured baby bird in our yard a few months back and I drove it about 30 miles outside the city to a bid sanctuary! Haha!! I hope your little bird is alright. Sometimes when they fall out they are just dazed and then a few mins later fly away🙂 xoxo

  3. deuxchicago says:

    Aww! I once found a bright blue parakeet just hanging out on the corner. I ended up taking it and giving it to a friend… I diddddd know you’re not supposed to touch wild birds because their mamas will reject them, but it was a freaking parakeet so I went with the assumption that its mother was MIA. Those pictures are the cutest… I’m sure your little baby birdie will be just fine! -L

  4. I have a good feeling about this…..I have a client who’s daughter is named Poppy and I’m commissioning this guy:http://thedesigndaredevil.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/inside-the-home-of-my-homeboy-jeff-kapfer/ to paint a pic for her room. Poppy + Birds is a good sign

    I understand though, I tear up when I see ‘Lost Dog” signs. I have a hard time feeling sorry for humans, but animals……game over, I’m a mess

  5. Poor lil nugget!😦 You are too sweet to try to save her lil life!

  6. Belen Otero says:

    Well i have a story that will make you feel better. We have a bunch of little birds that have made our chimney the spot that they nest and have babies. Well at least once a week one little baby falls out of the nest and dies on impact when they hit the floor or our pool. So one of the dogs will come in the house with a baby bird in there mouth!!!! =(

  7. Amanda Hill says:

    My mom always has so many nests every summer in their yard! Love the fluffy babies!

  8. so precious!!! She’s so tiny! little thing:)

  9. elizabeth says:

    so cute!!!! I guess that is the circle of life, but it is sad…
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  10. Gabriela says:

    Waaah! Poor widdle birdy.

  11. Alexa says:

    Oh she is adorable. She made it back okay, I’m sure of it. These stories always break my heart.

  12. Lily says:

    She is SO cute but aww I hope she found her way back😦

    xxLily
    goldandgray.com

  13. kristina says:

    awww, so sweet, i will say a little prayer for her..
    xo

Leave a Reply

