50 Shades of Pink

I never thought I’d be a pink girl. Turns out I am. Hardcore. Speaking of hardcore, I forgot to tell you that I got through book one of the 50 Shades trilogy and can’t bear to think about reading the other two. I know it’s really popular, but you guys, the writing is atrocious. Like if I have to hear Ms. Steele and Mr. Grey refer to each other as Ms. Steele and Mr. Grey again, I will actually shoot myself. It is quite possibly the worst book I’ve ever read. Please tell me what the appeal is.

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “50 Shades of Pink

  1. MrsStarr says:

    OH MY!

    Ladies please don’t be so harsh on poor 50 Shades of Grey, especially if your literary criticism begin with “Like” or as english majors you over use the exclaimation mark! If you are fans of the colour pink you may just find yourselves blushing a lovely shade of pink reading the pages of this book and dare I say enjoying it. Many others have. So give it a go and try to do it without a red pen in your hand wanting to correct grammatical errors or cross out the words that annoy you (and there will be some).
    Just admit to yourself it’s ok to slum it with a novel occassionally, especially in the name of entertainment. (don’t tell me you’ve never picked up a celebrity magazine girls)

    Sexy comes in many colours, not just pretty pink!

    (No offense intended – honestly I just purchases pink lingere)

  2. The NOW says:

    Oh and I made it yesterday but it will be posted tomorrow so you’ll have to check it out! xo

  3. The NOW says:

    STOP!!!! I just did a guest post yesterday for The Urban Slant and I called it “50 Shades of Pink” I promise I didn’t copy! We are style soul mates! xoxo

  4. Kirby says:

    So happy you actually said something about the WRITING! I was an English major and freelance writer and think that would bug me! Haven’t read it but now don’t think I will

  5. elizabeth says:

    My post today was on pink! I read the entire trilogy almost a year ago before it got all hyped up here and I hated it! I only finished all three because I can’t leave something undone, without knowing how it ends. But I skipped over almost every sex scene and email exchange. Utterly horrendous writing.
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  6. Rebecca June says:

    If you are looking for a good book to read…White Girl Problems. I cried laughing almost the entire time I read it. I think it took me twice as long to read, because I was really laughing so much. BTW, that is totally awkward to do on an airplane.

    xoxo,

    Rebecca June

  7. Haha totally hysterical. I’m making my way through book one but I’m taking it VERY slow. I totally agree about the writing but I have to see what all of the hype is about. I’ll get there. Eventually. I tend to bore quite easily so we shall see.

    Ah and yes, Pink. I never though I was a pink girl but have surprisingly discovered that I have quite the fondness for it🙂 xoxo

  8. You are not the only person to say this about that book. I think I’m gonna skip it. There are plenty of other good reads out there!

  9. I haven’t read the book – but have heard mixed things! I love pink and had a cotton candy pink walled room until I moved out at 18:) haha

  10. Topic 1 pink- I didn’t realize how much of a pink girl until recently as well. first it was bella liked pink, so i got her all pink. as we’ve been redecorating the house I feel in love with a big pink rug and now i’m using it as the focal point.

    topic 2 – 50 shades, you are exactly right, the writing makes me want to vom. it’s better with wine. I must admit I flipped through A LOT of the trilogy. Especially when they refer to each other in the ridiculous way they do, also those bedroom scenes are REALLY repetitive one can only read that scene so much, so I skipped. I get attached to characters easily and have to find how it all plays out. So I tortured myself for a couple of weeks to finish the books to find out all the hype. now i just want a new closet and house on a lake.

  11. designstiles says:

    Ooh, pretty pictures. I totally meant to ask you about the book in our convo yesterday. I noticed you said not to bother with it when Naomi listed it in her five books I wanna read on vmac’s post. I juuuust started it last week. I have terrible reading skills so that means I’m only on like page 50. My sister said it was terrible too. I hear the appeal is the scandalous zexy time.

  12. Neda says:

    I’ve heard the same, that the writing is horrible. What I really want to know is why is it so popular? Solving this mystery may help us find the key to making millions!🙂 xx

  13. deuxchicago says:

    Toldya! I always feel like such a snob saying that because people love it OMG! SO! MUCH! but honestly, I feel like its my duty to tell them that they have poor taste in books and that they can find better smut by Googling “boobs” or something.

    Mooooving on… I also love pink, especially the hot pink variety, and when it’s pink lemonade mixed w/vodka🙂 -L

  14. kristina says:

    ooh, love the pink! i haven’t read the book actually, so i can’t give my review. but i’m curious to hear what others have to say.
    xo

Leave a Reply

