Confessions of a Dog Mom

Up until about 6 months ago, The Monster drove me batshit crazy.  He was a humongous, misbehaved teenager with excessive energy and an attitude problem. Once he officially outweighed me, there was no controlling him. I fell really hard a couple times during walks (because he sprints after other dogs) and developed anxiety about walking him. I was a hands-off mom, which was hard on the poor Husband.

And then one day, The Monster was less of an asshole. And the following day even more so.  With his new found maturity I decided it was time to face my fears.  I downed an Ativan with a glass of wine and ventured out with my giant beast. We made it a few blocks before my heart started palpitating. But I came home unscathed and congratulated myself for my show of courage. Each day thereafter, Dexter and I walked a little further and I got a little more comfortable and we continued to work on his training. Today, I’m proud to announce to you all (because I know you care about these things) that we hit the two mile mark without a single incident!

With a lot of training, a dash of patience and a dose of prescription medication, I am now one of those people who can take a casual stroll with her animal!

Photo via The Husband

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Confessions of a Dog Mom

  1. Erika [small shop] says:

    Good for you! Sounds like you tackled it in the best way…a little at a time. I totally feel you by the way. Our big dog can be a lot to handle and he definitely listens to my husband more than me. He is a totally different dog once we step out the door — a love bug inside, and Mr. Protector don’t cutesy me mom, outside. Our breeder recommended this leash that has worked wonders. I’ll see if I can get the name of it. No spikes or anything crazy! It’s kind of like a lasso though so it tightens when he tries to pull. And I heard keeping the leash higher on the head (closer to the ears) gives you more control! The body goes where the head goes.
    Good luck! Great photo. xo

  2. This is such a sweet pic of the two of you… good pair of buns on the two of you! Love that the Monster has matured!🙂 Love that y’all made it two miles together. Congrats sweets and good job with him!

  3. Woohoo! Congratulations. I mean, we don’t even have a dog and I’ve never owned one, but when we get what I anticipate will be a little nugget that weighs in under 20 lbs, I’ll still be scared of walking him. Like, what if he’s a total asshole to other sidewalk goers?

  4. leanbean says:

    Congrats! We have a great Dane as well and have fallen several times myself to only come home and demand the husband only walk her. She is over three years old now and still freaks out about other dogs but we have a system to keep her under control. Keep it up with Dexter!

  5. Lauren says:

    Love the photo! I think I’d love a great dane. I have a 4lb yorkie right now and I’d love to have them both together just for the hilarity of it. How much does The Monster weigh? I heard they’re super lovable and really just think they’re a lap dog🙂 Which is perfect because my yorkie thinks he’s do tough!

  6. Alexa says:

    they can truly be little monsters. Glad yours is behaving himself! Ha.

  7. belenotero says:

    I don’t know how you do it S! I can barely walk Fiona and she’s only 60 lbs. She basically walks me. Congrats for being able to handle the beast!

  8. Way to go sista!!!! I adore that pic of you two! I would have to be paid at least a grand to post a pic of my ass, ha ha

  9. so glad i’m not alone! I can’t imagine how frustrating that must have been since he is so big! I feel like sometimes I can’t control Gaston and he is 12 lbs! Thanks for this insight – it makes me hope for the best!!!

  10. elizabeth says:

    you are adorable! I have had a 40 lb dog pull on a leash before and could not control him, so I know that is scary when the monster is so huge. have a great weekend, friend!
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  11. deuxchicago says:

    Congratulations! I’m guessing if you were ever in trouble that moose of an animal would be the first one by your side🙂
    -A

  12. designstiles says:

    I can’t believe how big he is. Good for you. Our sweet little Bams started barking at runners. Out of nowhere he’s scared of runners, or people with bags. And Nora, well, that girl’s a little bitch altogether. She barks at little girls. I think she’s jealous.

  13. conciergecouture says:

    Hysterical! You can’t make this stuff up.

Leave a Reply

