His Holiness

Stuff I learned from the Dalai Lama (I took notes):

  • Compassion and concern for others is biological.
  •  Through deliberate cognitive training, we can change our brain activity to cultivate inner peace.
  • A balanced mind = a balanced body.
  • Hopelessness, fear, anger, hatred = destroyers of calm mind and inner peace.
  • Destroy the destroyers with noble emotions to develop compassion and genuine concern for others.
  • Be compassionate to even those that treat you negatively. It’s good for you.
  • Inner peace leads to justice. Emotional unrest causes injustice.
  • Material values are teasers and a distraction.
  • Modern education and technology promote materialism. We should be more focused on ethics, morals and tolerance.

We all kind of know the above information, but it makes more of an impact coming straight from the source. You guys, the Dalai Lama is wise and funny. Who knew he had a sense of humor? I need to take up yoga again immediately. And also train my brain to be compassionate to the people who have hurt me. New goals!

Only photo I could get of him.

 

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “His Holiness

  1. […] isn’t immune to female beauty… so naturally, we’re sure he’s in love with this Lonely Wife, who got to see him large and in charge last […]

  2. everswoon says:

    Copy and paste to my desktop. Yes, we all know these words but it is good to remind ourselves, especially in the age of materialism and tech. What is modern education? Being a blogger doesn’t help either! The Dalai lama is a comedian? Who would of thought?

  3. designstiles says:

    “Technology promotes materialism” Right? Because of blogs I feel like I need a new pair of shoes every week, and the new it every thing every day. Sometimes I just wish it would stop.

  4. Erika [small shop] says:

    How fascinating! “Modern education” has me wanting to hear more…the context? So very cool you got to hear him speak. How uplifting and inspiring and life-changing!

  5. That is one of the coolest things I’ve seen/heard in a while. I wish I knew the story of how you got to see him. You must be a super alpha female! But obviously one that is gracious and kind to those who do her wrong…

  6. Gabriela says:

    My favorite is “material values are teasers and a distraction” because I always shop or spend money when I’m upset. It may seem cute when put in the context of calling it “retail therapy” but really, if therapy is supposed to be helpful, how are you helping yourself by spending money? Material values are a total distraction from dealing with what is really bothering me and no matter how much I want to tell myself “I deserve this purse/skirt/shoes”, what I really deserve is to find inner peace and have a savings account!

  7. Neda says:

    Thanks for sharing with us! These are important reminders. Mind and body are dependent on each other and sometimes I forget how much stress can mess everything up. Need to be more peaceful!

  8. elizabeth says:

    So inspiring! I am so glad you did that. I hate technology already – always have my phone off and have recently gotten off Facebook. I need to clear out more and meditate and breathe.
    Gonna be in SD in late August to decorate Maddie’s big girl room and celebrate my bestie’s bday, my bday and her hubby’s bday – would love to see you!
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  9. Kinda too cool for words! I would write it all down too😉 xoxo

  10. thats incredible that you got to be there! thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

