Ginger Basil Mocktail

There are only several opportunities in life where you can incorporate the word “mocktail” into your vernacular. I’m taking advantage of it. Last week I hinted at the delightfully refreshing non-alcoholic beverage I enjoyed during Sunday brunch. Sometimes, I like to give my liver a rest and this ginger basil mocktail is a good substitute. The key is to use a really great ginger syrup — my favorite is from Morris Kitchen — and obviously lots of fresh basil. Enjoy yourselves!

Ginger Basil Mocktail Recipe:

handful of fresh basil and mint leaves
½ shot ginger syrup
½-1 shot ginger ale
fresh squeezed lime juice

Place basil in a shaker.  Add  all of the other ingredients and some ice and shake vigorously. Strain into glass filled with crushed ice. Garnish with full basil leaf.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Ginger Basil Mocktail

  1. Erika [small shop] says:

    Yay! I needed this recipe! Sounds amazing. We are headed to Palm Springs this weekend and this will be perfect.

  2. inredningsvis.se says:

    MMM looks yummyy….I love ginger its good for the stomach:)
    If you want some bedroom inspiration..check out my blog:)
    Have a great week.

    LOVE maria at inredningsvis

  3. Shut up… I just tried this for the first time in Charleston… the buzz was so well worth it! Delish!

  4. Evelyn says:

    Looks lovely🙂

  5. love ginger so this sounds delish!

  6. everswoon says:

    yes, even the liver needs a break sometimes, this is a great alternative! Then back to the spiked teas!

  7. elizabeth says:

    it really has gotten to the point where I think you should have a cookbook or cooking show….
    xoxo -e (modern24seven)

  8. Sounds yummm! I’m giving my liver a rest too so this should do the trick quite nicely🙂 xoxo

  9. Aubrey says:

    This is pretty much the ultimate summer cool down drink! And I’m pretty sure I’ve heart that ginger is really good for you, but shhh…don’t tell anyone (c:

  10. Neda says:

    Oooh, this looks great…and I will recommend to a couple preggie friends with nausea (the ginger is suppose to help with nausea!!) that are pretty upset that they can’t drink!🙂 xx

  11. This makes me depressed…..why oh why do I need to dry out??? I hate sobriety. just kidding…………sorta

Leave a Reply

