Food and Other Drugs

I was absent yesterday. Here’s what you missed:

  • Huge presentation at work
  • Anxiety
  • Emergency Ativan
  • More work
  • Emergency glass of wine
  • Giant bowl of tortilla soup

You didn’t miss much. Thank God it’s almost Friday!

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe:

Nonstick vegetable oil spray
3/4 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon chili powder
4 cups canned vegetable broth
4 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
4 6-inch-diameter corn tortillas, cut into 1/2-inch-wide strips
1 1/2 cups chopped tomatoes
2/3 cup canned black beans, rinsed, drained
2/3 cup chopped zucchini
1 1/2 tablespoons minced seeded jalapeño chili

Spray large nonstick saucepan with vegetable oil spray. Add onion and garlic; cover and cook over medium-low heat until almost tender, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Stir in tomato paste, cumin and chili powder. Add broth and 2 tablespoons cilantro; bring to boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer until flavors blend, about 15 minutes. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover; chill. Bring to simmer before continuing.)

Add tortillas, tomatoes, beans, zucchini and jalapeñp to soup. Cover; simmer until zucchini is tender, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Ladle soup into bowls. Sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons cilantro.

 

Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “Food and Other Drugs

  1. Rebecca June says:

    I wish I had you to make a warm dinner for me…my poor husband.

    xoxo

    Rebecca june

  2. kristina says:

    mmm, my mouth just watered, seriously!! i need to make this😉
    xoxo

  3. judithatwood says:

    This is a beautiful soup! And tomato soup has always been a comfort food for me. Thanks for the recipe — I hope today is easier. 😎

  4. Dana says:

    ooooh this is what my sore throat needs!

  5. How did the presentation go??
    Love your recipes. You inspired me to put a recipe up tomorrow — Guinness Brownies (yes you read that right)

  6. Tortilla soup rocks, and veggie’s you go girl. I have emergency glasses of wine all the time. Life Savers for sure.

  7. That tortilla soup looks bomb! As for the presentation, I’m sure you nailed it😉

  8. That looks so pretty…..mmmmmmmmmmm tort soup!

  9. LMF says:

    I once took a valium before a huge presentation in school. I couldn’t remember what I had just talked while I was giving the presentation. Shortest presentation I’ve ever given. I think…

    I hope you took the ativan after!

  10. I hope your presentation went well!

  11. Lovely. I’m in need of an emergency glass of wine, is there a number one can call?

  12. Neda says:

    I love your posts~ they always put a smile on my face! Thanks for the recipe– I’m a big fan of tortilla soup.

Leave a Reply

