I Went to New Orleans

I’m back from Mardi Gras in New Orleans grope-free and no longer a port-a-potty virgin. It had to happen, you guys, and I just went with the flow. Mardi Gras is pretty crazy and I still can’t get over how into parades people are. But it definitely is a sight to see and I can check it off my bucket list.

I have to say the residents of Louisiana epitomize southern hospitality. The friends we stayed with went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we’re so thankful to them for providing me and The Husband with shelter, food and entertainment for five days.

Highlights of our trip included a daytime stroll in the French Quarter (we decided on purpose not to do Bourbon Street in the dark), the best Hurricane at the oldest bar in the city, and catching beads from random strangers on balconies.

We were chastised for all our sinning so we went to church to repent.

One day we sought shelter at a nearby plantation during a torrential downpour.

There was a lot of parade watching going on. I almost brought a mini horse home with me.

And thank God for use of a private port-a-potty provided by some sweet friends.

I also tried extremely hard to catch beads from Will Ferrell at the Bacchus Parade. Nothing.

all images via my Iphone

I didn’t get to meet Elizabeth as it is nearly impossible to get around during Mardi Gras😦 But she promises to come to San Diego!

And that’s my trip in 200 words or less, which I know is about how long I have your attention for. Thanks to all of you who left me tips about Mardi Gras. Especially the one about the shenis.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “I Went to New Orleans

  1. casacaudill says:

    We’ve done New Orleans twice – the first time was during Mardi Gras and I was much younger (ie, I could drink more and drunken debauchery was less surprising to me); the most recent time was over Thanksgiving last year. We stayed off Bourbon as much as possible and had an absolutely lovely time in the city. I’m already trying to figure out when we can go back for Jazz Fest.

  2. Fun! I haven’t been to New Orleans in years….it would appear that not much has changed.

  3. Such a bummer you couldn’t squeeze in a visit with Elizabeth, but it sounds like you kept pretty busy. I want that little horse too!!

    I’m dying to get to New Orleans, but i’m thinking my crowd-phobia might make it best for me to go another time of the year. I’m still down with booze and beads, though.

  4. designstiles says:

    200 words or less – haaa haaa haaa. Although, I wouldn’t mind it if you gave us 400 words or more.🙂

    Sometimes I rather pop a squat than go in a port-a-potty. I can only hold my breath for so long in a port-a-potty.

    Did you try any beignets?

  5. Molliee says:

    looks like such a blast! fun pics!!!

  6. Ashton says:

    I want that pony! And shenis? What?!? That is just crazy enough for me to go ‘wtf’ but hey, I’d be pretty worried about finding a place to use the restroom, too. Glad you had a great time!🙂

  7. elizabeth says:

    This is city is much better without the madness but everyone has to do it once. I hope you can come back when I can take you out every night and we can have a relaxing visit!
    xoxox -e (modern24seven)

  8. Your stoopid gorgeous! Seriously, beautiful! Your trip looked like a blast… love me some huge ass beers too.😉 Props to you on the port-a-potty… those things still make my skin crawl!

  9. Neda says:

    Welcome back! Looks like you had a great time! Love the pictures.

  10. Leslie says:

    My cousins were married in that cathedral! Love the photos and look forward to going back.

  11. New Orleans Mardi Gras is fo sho one for the bucket list. Love your gold glitter nails. Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

