Corsets

Corsets have long been a symbol of female oppression (this is about as feminist as I get on this blog so bear with me). But are they really that different than the hell we put ourselves through today to look good?

“The corset was associated with high status and with respectability, indicating you’re not loose,” said Valerie Steele, director and chief curator of The Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology. “Also, it enhances the sexually dimorphic curves of the female body. It acts like a proto-Wonderbra and also emphasizes the waist-hip differential, which makes you look younger, slimmer, and curvier-which is still what everybody wants. But now women get on a StairMaster or get plastic surgery instead of putting on a corset.”

Interesting huh? I argue that yesterday’s corsets are today’s Louboutins — gorgeous but the pain sort of makes you want to commit a crime. What say you?

Images via . Read “Everything you know about corsets is false” here.

Tagged , ,

15 thoughts on “Corsets

  1. Cosets = forever beautiful! Soft and delicate! Love your comparison… today’s Louboutins! Wish I could get some of the boudoir ladies to bring these beauties back!

  2. I’ll stick with my Spanx!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Amanda Hill says:

    Nothing better than a sexy corset! Really hard to wear but OMG hot!

  4. A corset on me would so odd — or would it actually give me a waist? Oh wait, I’d have to remove a rib like Janet Jackson first. Ouch!

  5. Jessica says:

    I’m in agreement with Chelsea, Spanx are definitely the modern corset – and a much more bearable. Too bad they’re not as gorgeous!

  6. Aubrey says:

    I know…it’s a pity all these things that are so damn sexy are so damn uncomfortable!!! What the heck??? But who am I kidding…I still wear the sky-high heels every chance I get…I’m a glutton for punishment (c:

  7. elizabeth says:

    I absolutely have a sickness for lingerie. I love corsets and silk and lace and anything womanly and feminine. So I love these pics!
    E (modern24seven)

  8. Tamra says:

    Best description yet, pain makes you want to commit a crime. petty crime? no pain, no gain?

  9. kristina says:

    the pain that we women go through to look good, i tell ya!
    xx, k

  10. Alexa says:

    Yeah…they just look pretty. But no thanks.

  11. Vanessa says:

    I’d say plastic surgery is way worse than a corset. But then again I’m not really a fan of either. Nowadays I don’t really see it as oppression. Women wear them because they’re sexy. And who doesn’t want to feel that way from time to time? But every day? No effing way…

  12. Molliee says:

    I love all the photos! but totally agree we do just as harsh stuff to ourselves now as corsets!

  13. Oh we’re so on the same page today! I have to agree that today’s corsets are Loubs. I can’t help myself though🙂 xoxo

  14. Lindsay says:

    You find the best pictures! I still think corsets are pretty and feminine…even though they are torture!

  15. Chelsea says:

    Oh, there are definitely so many things that we still use today to change our bodies. Cosmetic surgery? It becomes exhausting trying to keep up. I do love my spanx, though. The modern corset. xo

Leave a Reply

