Nailed

And I thought glittery nails were daring. Multi-medium artist Dzine chronicles nail design in the new book “Nailed: The History of Nail Culture and Dzine.”

“The art of sprucing up our fingertips began in China in 3000 B.C. Later, women of the Chinese Ming Dyntasy donned artificial nails to separate themselves from manual laborers, and 18th century Greek ladies wore pistachio shells on their hands. Since then, we’ve seen plastic white tips, rhinestone flowers and punny polish names to cover the entire spectrum of color.”

Excerpt from the Huffington Post.

Tagged , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Nailed

  1. alex says:

    WOWZA. I just got a color on my gel/acrylics and I thought that I was daring. I stand corrected. PS: I’m getting an Iphone soon so you need to teach me how to use it and how to use that instagram thingy. More importantly, we need an OCizzle night. Love.

    http://masteringthesaturnreturn.blogspot.com/

  2. tamra says:

    How do you text?

  3. Ann says:

    These are insanely cool! They make me want to create a costume around them.

  4. Crazy. Beautiful. Unique and totally gorgeous!

  5. Aubrey says:

    I’m not gonna lie…I’m a little creeped out by these nails….and anything that gets in the way of eating, I’m against it…(c:

  6. kristina says:

    ah! crazy!! i love the little locket!!
    xx, k

  7. Can you imagine seeing these in person, like someone in line in front of you at Starbucks? I can’t believe there is actually a locket on the end of one of them!

  8. Molliee says:

    pretty insane! love the photos:)

  9. elizabeth says:

    That is so cool to hear where certain traditions come from. I have a terrible habit of biting mine, so I keep them short and clean, but I would love to have an “american” manicure every week if I could – you know, the more toned down version of the french manicure…
    -e (modern24seven)

  10. Amanda Hill says:

    Holy wow! Very interesting read….how do you brush your teeth or other stuff? It could cause a sever injury🙂

  11. GMILWARD says:

    a little crazy but very creative.

Leave a Reply

