Powerful

BuzzFeed just issued the “45 Most Powerful Images of 2011.” I admit, this isn’t the most feel good blog post, but it’s not always butterflies and alcohol around here. I can be serious too you guys. These are actually the most uplifting ones so you’re welcome!

Phyllis Siegel, 76, left, and Connie Kopelov, 84, both of New York, embrace after becoming the first same-sex couple to get married at the Manhattan City Clerk’s office. (Getty)

Members of the national security team receive an update on the mission against Osama bin Laden in the Situation Room of the White House on May 1. (Reuters)

Cars are abandoned on Chicago’s Lake Shore Drive during the “Snowpocalypse” in February. (Chicago Tribune)

Facebook played an extremely important role in the uprisings throughout the Middle East. (theatlanticwire.com)

Australian Scott Jones kisses his Canadian girlfriend Alex Thomas after she was knocked to the ground by a police officer’s riot shield in Vancouver, British Columbia. Canadians rioted after the Vancouver Canucks lost the Stanley Cup to the Boston Bruins. (Getty)

See the rest here.

 

Tagged , ,

15 thoughts on “Powerful

  1. So powerful and might have even felt a tear! Great post love!

  2. Brilliant! They say so much more than words ever could. Glad you shared, it’s good perspective!

  3. Tamra says:

    Great post, that last photo is new to me and so powerful. I needed some intellect and reflection today. Xo

  4. Wow. Amazing. I’m floored. Such a great way to start my day. I needed that perspective like you have no idea.

  5. designstiles says:

    My friend posted these on facebook the other day. I seriously would’ve never guessed the topic of the first photo. Touching.

  6. Rebecca June says:

    This was amazing and awful all in one. The puppy next to the casket nearly killed me.

    xoxo

    Rebecca June

  7. Vanessa says:

    The first time I read through the went through the whole list of pictures it really took my breath away. The tsunami images and the volcano shot were really powerful. If anything it’s a reminder that we’re no match for Mother Nature.

  8. these sent shivers down my spine ~ so so powerful…
    xx ~ k

  9. Love these! I remember the 1st one and also the one of the couple kissing as the riots went on in Vancouver.

    It’s almost Friday, yeah! xoxo

  10. Love all of them… The kiss from the riots is an amazing picture and after living in Cairo I love the picture about Facebook… the Arabic says thanks to the Egyptian people and it’s so touching… Thank God for modern technology for its role in the Egyptian revolution and for showing us all of these beautiful images!

  11. A few of the images made me tear up!

  12. Molliee says:

    can’t wait to check out the rest! Thanks for sharing!

  13. I was just looking through all of these images the other day. Such great camera work.

  14. The white house one was my favorite picture. I remember seeing this at the time and knew this picture would make it into history books. You can feel the emotions just by looking at that picture.

  15. Thanks for sharing! Definitely some powerful images in there (including all the pepper spraying ones…can you imagine?)

Leave a Reply

