Sweet Potato Tacos

Last week, I saw sweet potatoes in the grocery store and realized that what I always thought were sweet potatoes are actually yams. So all the times I made sweet potato fries, I was actually making yam fries. What the hell is the difference anyway? In any case, these real sweet potato tacos (not yam tacos) are easy and delightful. We have a new staple in our house.

Recipe:

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
2 limes, juiced
1 small onion, finely diced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
Salt and pepper
Tortillas

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put cubed sweet potatoes on a baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil, salt, pepper and toss to coat.  Bake for 30-40 minutes. Toss around to avoid burning. Let cool for a few minutes. Heat olive oil in a saucepan.  Add onions and cook until softened.  Add cumin, black beans and lime juice.  Let cook for about 5 minutes. Fill up tortilla with potatoes, bean mixture, fresh salsa and cilantro. Eat.

Tagged , , ,

20 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Tacos

  1. designstiles says:

    I love having taco just about anything in our house.

    Shoot, TH once told me the difference between yams and sweet potatoes. I’m sure I was too busy stuffing my face with one of the two to make any sense of his words.

  2. Rebecca June says:

    I wish I could cook like you. i am domestically disabled.

    xoxo

    Rebecca June

  3. Amanda Hill says:

    I have no Idea what the diff is…but those taco’s look yum~oh🙂

  4. Neris says:

    never heard of it before but it looks really delicious! need to try it🙂

    xoxo,

    Fashion Fractions

  5. Aly says:

    We don’t ‘do’ yams in Ireland! LOVE this recipe though

  6. Sweet potatoes + tacos = heaven! I’ve never tried, great share!

  7. bentley says:

    yum. and seriously, what is the diff?

  8. Molliee says:

    I was under the same impression! oh well they are both delish and these taco’s are such a great idea!

  9. Aubrey says:

    I just googled the difference between yams and sweet potatoes…I’m still completely confused. (c: I always love the taste of sweet potatoes and cumin and they are always yummy with beans, this might be dinner tonight!

  10. elizabeth says:

    Sweet potatoes are a huge staple in the South- for Thanksgiving you will find sweet potato casserole, pie, pancakes and fries everywhere – that recipe seems delish – will you please make them for me when I visit you???
    xoxoxox E (modern24/7)

  11. Can I food nerd out a little bit and correct your grocery store? This drives me crazy. Yams are actually a completely different thing than yellow/white or orange sweet potatoes, and are not typically sold in US grocery stores. Mostly because they’re freaking gigantic, and American cooks wouldn’t know what to do with them. It’s super common for grocery stores to mistakenly label orange sweet potatoes as yams.

    Here’s what a yam actually looks like: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yam_(vegetable)

    So don’t worry…you have, in fact, been making sweet potato fries.

    –End culinary school nerd rant–

  12. oh yum! i love potatoes and i love tacos = great combination!! and i’m FROM berkeley, crazy! we have to discuss all of the places that you frequented okay?? i don’t even know where to begin?!😉😉
    xx ~ kristina

  13. These sound amazing!!! I would never have thought to do this.

  14. Yams and sweet potatoes are different, but apparently for some reason yams, in North America, are always labelled as sweet potatoes in order to avoid confusion… I’m confused.

  15. Yes i know! We joke and call them yam fries. LOL.

    I never thought of using them in tacos! We just had tacos last night. Gonna tell the hubs to make this for me. ;o)

  16. Betsy says:

    This is so funny because I’ve been having that same discussion with some friends all week! I’ve been schooled by these two articles http://bit.ly/sRFGd3 and http://bit.ly/srFeQW I guess those garnet yams really are sweet potatoes?!?! Seriously, who knows!? Wrap em in a tortilla and call em whatever you want! Yum!

  17. Lindsay says:

    What a great idea! These sound (and look!) soooo good. I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

