Banana Muffins

This past weekend was the start of football season, which is a sad time for me. Hours of romantical time on the weekends will be lost as the Husband tries to juggle his fantasy football teams and his schoolwork. To ease my depression, I decided to be ultra naughty on Sunday by making and indulging in baked goods. I’m pretty conservative, so “naughty” to me means low-fat banana muffins. Also, wearing silk pajamas instead of flannel pajamas.

This recipe is from Cook This Not That. The secret is Greek yogurt, which adds moisture and you don’t have to use as much butter. It was pretty moist and nutty and almost as effective as Wellbutrin. I recommend.

Recipe:

3 large very ripe Bananas
2 tbsp Melted Butter
1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
2 Large Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350F. Combine the bananas, yogurt, butter, eggs and vanilla in a large mixing bowl, stirring to blend. In a separate bowl, mix together all the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon. Gently fold the dry ingredients into the wet banana mixture and stir until fully incorporated. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake on a low oven rack for 50 min. or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean.  Let cool for 5 min. in the pan. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Banana Muffins

  1. Teresa says:

    is the baking time of 50 minutes for a loaf of bread? because it sure doesn’t take that long for muffins!!! I over baked because of this.

  2. haha! I can’t tell you how much I can relate to this… it’s like you lost the man of your dreams to the boobtube! Redic! Anyways, this looks delightful!!

  3. oh yummy!! this looks amazing ~ i’ll be making this one soon for sure😉😉
    xx

  4. i have to eat low-fat to save calories for my wine. yum!

  5. chuckcotton says:

    hah. football season rocks!

  6. Oh yummy! These look delicious. I love banana muffins and I love Greek yogurt so this looks like a fabulous option for me. Thanks for the recipe! I’ll definitely be trying it🙂 xoxo

  7. Molliee says:

    I feel the same way about watching sports but for my bf it’s tennis, and thank god the US open just finished… it was nonstop tennis tv. These muffins look yummilicious!

  8. Vanessa says:

    Luckily my boyfriend doesn’t care too much about football, so I don’t become a football widow on weekends. Although sometimes I wish that we were into it just because of the food. Chili, anyone?

  9. You are too funny, I was doing the same thing!! Football last saturday = spa trip and choco cookies! I’ll need to try these this weekend, oh what will I do if he gets the football package where he can watch everygame!?!?

  10. Yummy!!! I need these, now. Can you come over with a delivery?

    I’m making those scones again for a brunch I am hosting on Saturday — the first time I’ve had guests over in a long time. I’m kinda nervous.

  11. elizabeth says:

    I wish I lived there so when the boys get together to do fantasy football we could get together to eat your fabulous treats…there is nothing better than moist banana muffins!
    -e

  12. I curse football season! Its the time when we are all lonely wives! The only thing I like about it is the terrible but wonderful food and of course, drinking.

  13. Ooh, I’m intrigued. I love Fage anyway, so I imagine this is kind of like adding sour cream to baked goods. Except healthier and with the hip factor of “this has Greek yogurt in it.”

    I totally can relate to football season equaling the end of the quality time. Usually, my bf has to pry me away from my computer; last weekend, he was all “Take as much time as you need! Really!” Oh yeah, so generous of you, hon.

Leave a Reply

