Mostly Not Potato Salad

Labor Day makes me want to stuff my face with mayonnaise-laden starches, but this year I thought I’d stuff my face with mustard-laden vegetables like this mostly not potato salad. I adapted the recipe from Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Every Day (my most favorite vegetarian cookbook) to include the vegetables I had in my fridge. The Dijon mustard and dill based dressing was ridiculous and the end result was delicious and — dare I say — a healthy alternative for a holiday stuff-your-face fest.


Recipe here (Note: I didn’t have tofu and I substituted several of the veggies).

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Mostly Not Potato Salad

  1. Dang this sounds yummy and healthy! Super huge fan of some vegs!

  2. Julip Made says:

    Although I do love mayo/ potato combo… I don’t really love it as a salad or even consider it to be worthy of the title “salad”. Now mustard laden veggies/ potatoes are an entirely different story. Great minds do think alike and I hope you also accompanied this with a nice glass of vino verde or something equally refreshing. Btw, there is a Corsican salad that I make that is similar to this, but with some added rice and a few other goodies. I’ll have to share soon!

  3. This salad looks flipping delicious. Maybe I’m a weirdo, but I’m all about the mustard-laden over the mayo-laden. This is probably because the mayo based potato salad reminds me of the ones that sit out in the sun at barbecues and get all warm and disgusting. BARF!(literally and figuratively.)

    I can’t believe I just alluded to food poisoning in my first ever comment on your blog. This is the start of good things to come, I can feel it!

  4. oh yum!!! this looks spectacular, like molliee says, it reminds me of a salad nicoise!! now i want this😉
    xx ~ ks

  5. This sounds delicious and right up my alley, thanks for sharing!

  6. elizabeth says:

    girl – you really are becoming like a professional chef! looks amazing!
    -e (modern24/7)

  7. Molliee says:

    oh perfect! It kind of reminds me of a nicoise… love it!

  8. Vanessa says:

    That look so amazing and fresh! And I am a fan of summer salad NOT drenched in mayo, so it looks especially good to me!

Leave a Reply

