Chicago: Day 2

Day two in Chicago started with a monsoon. Seriously, I have never seen it rain that hard ever. The Husband sweetly went out to get me coffee in the morning and by the time he got back, it looked like he had jumped into a lake. Predictably, I had another mini meltdown when I was told we would be cancelling our sightseeing activities. So instead of our architectural boat tour, we ate more pizza and then went in search of umbrellas and some covered shopping on Magnificent Mile.  Miraculously, by mid-afternoon the sun came out and the boat tour was on again. Seeing the gorgeous city from the river definitely tops my list of fav activities. We also caught glimpses of the air and water show!

After the tour, we went over to the Hancock Building to see the spectacular view people rave about. We had a drink at the Signature Room, took loads of pictures of ourselves against the backdrop and I finally felt like I had seen Chicago! Fast forward to more free wine and rest before going out to dinner at Japonais, which came highly recommended by lots of Chicago bloggers. And I’d like to thank them because we had the most insane chocolate-filled donuts and green tea ice cream for dessert. Also, I can’t stop fantasizing about the miso soup. After dinner, we took our young asses to the club. I think it was called Sound Bar and even though it’s not my typical scene it was fun. Anytime I have bottle service and a table to sit at I have fun. Another extremely late night followed by a 6 a.m. wake-up call. Then we went home and I slept for 12 hours straight. The end!

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Chicago: Day 2

  1. Praveen says:

    So glad you got to hit up some of my favorite places. Looks like you guys had a fabulous trip!

  2. You seriously know how to do a city right!! I am a big fan of visiting new cities and doing lots of sightseeing, eating and a night out. Would be my perfect trip.

    Again, you and your hubbie are adorable! I can’t wait to meet you in person in a few weeks finally!!

  3. Naomi says:

    Sounds like you had a great trip! I’m dying to get back there.

    Have a good time this weekend. Good luck cycling. It totes scares me too!

    xo

  4. YOUR SO PRETTY!!!! Awesome pictures from what looks like a fabulous vacation! Your making me long for Chicago… I seriously love that place!

  5. Mary says:

    Great pics. Chicago is one of my favorite cities. I discovered the boat tour a few years ago, and it’s such a great way to see the city!!!
    Happy weekend!

  6. you look gorgeous!! and these photos = superb! the mag mile is awesome isn’t it? just when i thought that S.F. was a city ~ chicago came at me full force ~ wow! now that is a serious city!!
    xoxo ~ kristina {p.s. thanks for your sweet comments!}

  7. Lily says:

    Sounds like a fabulous trip ! Really loving all your photos…you look so cute !

    xxLily
    goldandgray.com

  8. Heather says:

    These pictures are fantastic! (don’t you love that massive 70’s era round parking garage / condo? so random with the other architecutre). I’m so excited to go this weekend…despite the fact it’s 90% rain on saturday and 60% on sunday…anyhoo we will try to make the best of it! Would love if the sun comes out and we could do a boat tour (we have yet to do an arch tour on our previous 2 visits). I will not be hitting a club…but a rooftop or cool hotel lounge is a distinct possibility🙂

  9. designstiles says:

    That first picture is so dreamy. Ah, you made it to da club. Bottle service is the way to go. These old lady dancing feet get tired nowadays. Plus, when you’re at the table you get to keep your eye on the bottle and grab it when it’s running low.

  10. Molliee says:

    this sounds like you guys made the best of it though!!!

  11. elizabeth says:

    I have a serious problem with heights so remind me never to visit the signature room! You guys are too adorable!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

