Chicago: Day 1

It took me long enough, but I finally got around to sorting through the photos from our whirlwind trip to Chicago with my brother and his gorgeous gf. We were only there for two full days so we had to cram in a hell of a lot of eating, drinking and sightseeing in 48 hours.

Day 1 started at Wrigley Field (post camera battery-meltdown). It was like the most crowded game since 1978 or something. Lucky me right?! We bar hopped in Wrigleyville before entering the historic stadium for some good ol’ fashion baseball. Unfortunately we didn’t stay till the 7th inning stretch since we had to head over to Millennium Park and take 300 pictures of our reflections in the Bean. We also had to eat deep dish pizza since the closest thing we have in Southern California is BJs.

Then it was a walk through the city back to our hotel where we indulged in a wine happy hour courtesy of Hotel Allegro (because free wine is awesome) before getting ready for a late dinner at Frontera. We didn’t have reservations (which you supposedly need to make months in advance), but my brother charmed the hostess into giving us a table immediately and I felt like I was Beyonce or something. After indulging in champagne margaritas, portabella mushroom tacos and lots of guac, we drank our way through the bars in River North until it was well past my bedtime.

Come back tomorrow for the recap of day 2 in Chicago!


 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Chicago: Day 1

  1. Love, Love, Love!!!! Looks like you had the BEST time ever! Your adorbs! You ate at some great places!

  2. gorgeous pictures!! do i spy lou malnati’s deep dish pizza??
    xoxo ~ ks

  3. looks like a great trip. you’re my kind of traveler. eat, drink and sight see a bit!

  4. Ashley says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful time! The pictures are great!

  5. Heather says:

    yay! love the bean. hahah can’t wait to see part 2, so I can get extra excited for my little windy-city-getaway this wkd😉

  6. Amanda Hill says:

    Wow looks like such a fun trip! And the pizza YUM~OH!

  7. Lara Matos says:

    Great Chicago pictures! Glad you had a fun time here – and got to indulge in some yummy pizza!

  8. Belen Otero says:

    You guys are so adorable S. I love how active you guys are together. I am dying to go to Chicago. That pizza looks amazing! Glad you guys had a great trip!

  9. I love the photo journal! Nice arm party in the last photos too:)

  10. Julip Made says:

    I’m not much of a baseball fan, but deep dish pizza and free wine are ALWAYS good things in my book! Very jealous that you got to try Frontera… I’m with Irene’s hubs and have a total chef crush on Rick. And yes.. we expect more food picts!

  11. Looks like an amazing time! I love the photo of you and your hubbie against the Chicago skyline. I hope you frame it.

  12. designstiles says:

    I never saw the bean. I was probably too busy scarfing down food at rainforest. Glad you tried Frontera. My husband has a total chef man crush on Rick Bayless. Hope you took three hundred pics of their food too.🙂

Leave a Reply

