Vegetable Couscous Delight

I call this dish “Clean Out Your Fridge Couscous.” It’s very similar to “Clean Our Your Fridge Soup” and “Clean Out Your Fridge Chili” except it involves couscous. I take all the veggies I want to get rid of, add some beans for protein’s sake, mix it with one of the quickest cooking carbs and voilà. A healthy, well-rounded dish in under 15 minutes.


Clean Out Your Fridge Couscous Recipe:

Any veggies on hand, chopped
1 can of  beans you’re in the mood for  (my fav is black or kidney)
1 tblsp olive oil
1 cup vegetable broth
1 tsp cumin
red pepper flakes (if you like spicy)
salt and pepper
handful of fresh herbs like cilantro or parsley

Saute vegetables and cumin in olive oil for about 5-7 minutes. Add couscous, beans and veggie broth. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer until most of the broth is absorbed. Season with salt and pepper, add chopped cilantro and eat up.

This is one of those recipes that I play by ear. Timing and spices all depends on the vegetables I’m using. You basically can’t go wrong with this.

Tagged , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Vegetable Couscous Delight

  1. I do this a lot with bulghur instead of couscous (to lazy to boil water and cook it over the stove) where bulghur you place in a bowl, boil water in a kettle, pour over the bulghur cover with a plate and let it go for 20 to 30 minutes. Then I just drain out the water and mix all my other ingredients in. One bowl meal with less clean up lol

  2. Betsy says:

    I’ve been cleaning out my fridge/pantry all week! Stop by and check it out http://bit.ly/p6PyNl

  3. thanks for this recipe! i’m all for quick and easy ~ and i believe in playing everything by ear!
    xx ~ ks

  4. designstiles says:

    You said under 15 minutes. Double sold. I’m making this everyday.

  5. designstiles says:

    15 minutes?!? I’m sold.

  6. elizabeth says:

    I can’t cook and I don’t eat healthy but I will sit in your kitchen and watch you clean out your fridge anytime. “Clean out your fridge” has to be a euphemism for something dirty, though.
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  7. perfect spin on the other clean our fridge ideas!!

  8. Yum!! I have a box of couscous sitting around and some random veggies – guess I’ll follow your lead and make that for dinner tonight🙂

  9. healthy dish in 15 minutes?!? bookmarking!

Leave a Reply

