Cauliflower Soup

We’re soup people.  We love soup as an appetizer, soup as an entree, soup for lunch, soup for dinner, soup in every season. I realize this makes us sound like seniors with dentures, but soup is easy and versatile and can be healthy. Before I learned to cook, we were regulars at the Soup Plantation. I assure you we’re in our twenties. Luckily, I developed a skill or two in the kitchen.

I made this cauliflower soup last week when I was desperate for comfort food. I topped it with aged white cheddar and served with a giant hunk of bread. There is nothing more therapeutic than bread. And wine too. It hit the spot.

Cauliflower Soup Recipe:

1 head of cauliflower, chopped
2 small potatoes, peeled and diced into tiny cubes
1 small yellow onion
2 cloves of garlic
2 cloves of shallots
1 cup aged cheddar
1 tblsp olive oil
4 cups vegetable broth
chives
salt and pepper

Saute onions and shallots in olive oil over medium high heat for about two minutes. Add garlic, potatoes and a pinch of salt, cover and cook until potatoes are near tender. Add cauliflower and broth, bring to a boil and simmer for about 10 minutes. Use an immersion blender (or transfer to a regular blender) to puree the soup. Add half a cup of cheese and blend some more. Transfer to bowl, season with pepper, top with cheese and chives and chow down.

Tagged , , ,

23 thoughts on “Cauliflower Soup

  1. Naomi says:

    saving this one fo’ sho!

  2. This sounds amazing! If only my husband was a soup person like you two!

  3. Yum, this looks so good! I really love making soups, and a plus is that it makes my hubby think I’m the best cook in the world! I’ll have to try this once the weatehr cools down a bit! I can’t beleive the weather was 65 for y’all!

  4. love soup. i make it all fall and winter long. i can only eat it when it’s cold out. kind of like white wine, can only drink that when it’s hot out. this recipe is def. going in my files.

  5. Julip Made says:

    We are soup people too…if it could only be soup weather soon. I’ve exhausted my cold soup repertoire (borscht, gazpacho, chilled cucumber, creamed corn…. Give me bread, wine and cheese any day and I’m a happy girl!

    PS. I agree with Irene, especially with soup, I can never get it to look appetizing in pictures. Teach us your tricks!

  6. designstiles says:

    I’m with Erika. Teach us your photo skillzzzz.

  7. designstiles says:

    I’ve never made soup in my life, unless you count opening up a can of Campbell’s. TH makes a really good broccoli soup. Or was it asparagus? It was delicious regardless. Cauliflower, ey? I should try.

  8. I’m a fan of cauliflower and didnt’ know that many others were as well. delish recipe!

  9. elizabeth says:

    I am commenting on the cauliflower because I have nothing to say about babies. Don’t get knocked up!🙂 Carter is a lovely name and this soup looks delish.
    -e

  10. thanks for sharing!!! cant wait to try, maybe will wait until cooler weather. its about 104 here in Virginia

  11. Vanessa says:

    Mmmm… Looks really good, especially topped with cheese! Unfortunately, it’s WAY too hot here to do hot soup. I’ll have to come back to this one when it gets cooler outside!

  12. Ohhhieee delightful! You are a wizard in the kit with those fancy receipts! This sounds amaze… and ha to the ha, bread + wine being therapeutic.. along with straight vodka! You seriously have me licking my liparooski’s! Sounds delish!

  13. You are truly a talented photographer when you can make cauliflower look mouthwatering. You’ve convinced me!

  14. I’m drooling. Cauliflower isn’t a typical veggie in our house, but I’m going to buy some after work now. Oh, and I am a HUGE soup lover too. I’m hugely addicted to Pho. And now I’m craving that too.

  15. this is a great recipe! looks yummers!

Leave a Reply

