Should I?

I did nothing noteworthy this weekend unless you count eating, sleeping and drinking as noteworthy, in which case I ate summer salads (recipes later this week), slept a minimum of 8 hours a night plus afternoon naps, and drank a lot of champagne because it’s my new Sunday tradition.

I also vacuumed frequently because I can’t seem to get away from dog hair. The Monster is shedding and it’s making me crazy. So crazy, in fact, that I can’t stop thinking about leather couches. It’s so much easier to wipe away dog hair and dog drool on a leather couch right? Anyways, I haven’t come across many leather couch-adorned spaces that I love, but here are a few that I like for inspiration. What do you think? Are leather couches cool in the design world or do they scream 1990. Also, tufted or non-tufted? Black or brown or neither? Tell me my design savvy friends. I need professional input.

Images via

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Should I?

  1. Meg says:

    I would def vote for an aged brown or cognac over black leather – but Emily Henderson just did an amazing job styling a tufted black leather sectional that might inspire you: http://www.stylebyemilyhenderson.com/blog/episode-14-recap.html

    Also – have you ever furminated your pups? I use a deshedding shampoo first and then furminate the sh** out of these guys: http://covetdecor.com/filthies/ outside and enough hair comes off to make another dog. That and a dyson vacuum (when I actually vacuum) make a HUGE difference.

  2. Julip Made says:

    VERRRY envious of your weekend because it is pretty much my ideal weekend! As for the couch, my dream couch would be a perfectly aged leather chesterfield… they look so delicious and library-ish (in a good way and if that is a word).

  3. We got leather sofas at home for that exact same reason and they look so much more presentable. The only casualty has been a slight scratch from when the youngest dog was a puppy (thanks to how horribly sharp puppy claws are!) but other than that they look so much better. Only trouble is now the dogs like rearranging the cushions to sleep on instead of the leather….🙂

  4. elizabeth says:

    Sabby,
    I think leather is a great choice for you guys and it does look better as it ages. I think to keep it from looking heavy or dated you should do white or a cool color!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  5. designstiles says:

    Sounds like you had my kind of weekend.

    Ooh, leather. Yes! I like a good ole classic chesterfield. Can only get better with time a la wine, yes?

  6. I love a leather tufted sofa but for lounging I would have to choose the one in photo #3! Looks very conducive to watching movies while sipping wine, a top priority.

  7. i definitely think that leather couches are a great thing ~ in fact, i’m thinking about investing in one just as soon as i get my house in order! and i would tend to lean in the direction of worn brown leather with modern, clean straight lines. thanks for your sweet comments on my feature btw!!
    xo ~ kristina

  8. I’d think if you’re going leather, do the tufted look. Much more classic which can be fun to bohemian-ize and eclectic-ize!

    Our dog has been shedding like 200% more than usual. I don’t know what is up! But I am SO over all the dog hair!

    I thought about you yesterday, we went to True Food Kitchen in Newport Beach and I had this Farmer’s Market Salad that was pretty much the best salad I’ve ever had — greens, mint, peas, chunks of Manchego cheese, and lemon. Sooo good!

  9. Leather is so much more dog friendly, with the exception of scratching, which will happen with wear regardless. I do not think they are 90’s at all and it’s all about how you accessorize them. I love the Fornasetti pillow. HOT. I prefer the look of the tufted sofas but not one that is tufted on the seat cushion bc it isn’t as comfortable.

  10. I love leather couches–especially the tufted ones. Although, I’m no designer🙂 The best part is that they are so easy to clean whether it’s a dog or, in my case, a husband making a mess.

  11. Naomi says:

    I sure love the look of a chesterfield, but I have to imagine the third sofa is the most comfortable.

    Leather sofa’s aren’t 90’s… especially not something in a classic shape. I especially love beat-up, worn in leather.

    Looking forward to your next recipe. I may try the veggie bbq sandwich this week!

Leave a Reply

