Another Day Another Light Fixture

For our anniversary, the Husband paid an electrician to install the new light fixture I got for our dining room. And I paid someone to give me a massage so the Husband doesn’t have to. Aren’t we a thoughtful couple?

We’ve been lightless since the bubble chandelier debacle a few months ago and I finally took Elizabeth’s advice and opted to add more natural texture to the space. It’s not absolutely perfect, but it was relatively cheap and does the trick. I’m the worst at photographing interiors so trust that this looks better in real life. And it gives off a romantic glow.

Click here to see the the bubble chandy and here to see the evolution of the dining room.




West Elm Abaca pendant

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “Another Day Another Light Fixture

  1. Amanda Hill says:

    Oooo thats right on the money! Great job! P.S. I pay for massages too🙂

  2. Your home is beautiful! I think that lamp was the perfect choice.

  3. That pendant looks fantastic. West Elm always has fantastic stuff. Oh, and I LOVE your chairs.

  4. LOVE!!! Perfect, that Elizabeth is one smart cookie.

  5. Thanks for all the sweet comments dudes!

  6. Wait, I think it looks amazing and so do your photography skills. Seriously. Gorgeous!

  7. Naomi says:

    Love it! You dining room is gorgeous, and I think your shots are great too. I adore the mix of natural and slick and the accessories are perfect too! You should feel great about this. Time to tackle another room🙂

  8. Love the look of the look! Great advice from Elizabeth. Girl, you definitely have photog skills!

  9. Sarah Gibbs says:

    it looks fantastic what a gorgeous room & I love the light

  10. April says:

    I think it looks pretty good in there! Maybe a larger size would have fit the scale of the room better, but I’m sure those don;t come cheap.

    Your dining room actually inspired me to get a new dining table/chairs back in early spring, although mine aren’t as fancy and the wall behind it is well, it’s damn knotty pine paneling for the time being: http://theaprilblake.com/2011/04/774/

    • Thanks April! Actually, the pendant looks larger in person. I don’t know if it’s my camera lens or just my angles that make it seem bity. I would definitely have gone bigger if that size was available though.

      I love your dining room chairs! How do you feel about painting your paneling. It’s totally doable and would make a huge difference. I recommend white.

  11. elizabeth says:

    Are you kidding me?!?! Those pics could be in a magazine! I love the natural rough jute of the chandy with the clear lucite chairs… sorry about the bubble chandelier but I loooooove this!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  12. love this room… can you please come decorate my apt????

Leave a Reply

