Summer Garden Pasta

Last weekend was a hot one and the Husband and I decided we would take most of our meals outdoors. Most of our meals consisted of sandwiches and champagne cocktails, but I did manage to bust out a quick, relatively light pasta dish courtesy of Barefoot Contessa (who I have a secret crush on even though she cooks with a lot of oil and butter. Or maybe I’m just jealous I can’t cook with the same abandon). Anyways, I didn’t have cherry tomatoes or capellini so I adjusted the recipe a bit and the result was a smashing success. We wined and dined and then spread out on the couch and watched the third Twilight movie on demand. Ladies, they can’t deny your movie choice if you feed them. This goes for men too. How do you think the Husband got me to watch Jackass 3.

Summer Garden Pasta Recipe:

½ cup good olive oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic (6 cloves)
4 pints small cherry tomatoes or grape tomatoes (or regular old tomatoes)
18 large basil leaves, julienned
2 tablespoons chopped fresh curly parsley
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme leaves (I used dry thyme)
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
¾ pound dried capellini or angel hair pasta (I used Trader Joe’s garlic basil linguini)
1½ cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Extra chopped basil and grated Parmesan for serving

Boil large pot of water and add two tablespoons of salt and a splash of oil. Meanwhile, heat the ½ cup of olive oil in a large (12-inch) sauté pan. Add the garlic to the oil and cook over medium heat for 30 seconds. Add the tomatoes, basil, parsley, thyme, two teaspoons salt, the pepper, and red pepper flakes. Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook for five to seven minutes, tossing occasionally, until the tomatoes begin to soften but don’t break up. While the tomatoes are cooking, add the capellini to the pot of boiling water and cook for two minutes, or according to the directions on the package. Drain the pasta, reserving some of the pasta water. Place the pasta in a large serving bowl, add the tomatoes and Parmesan, and toss well. Add some of the pasta water if the pasta seems too dry. Serve large bowls of pasta with extra basil sprinkled on top.

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Summer Garden Pasta

  1. Naomi says:

    I’m totally going to remember that tip about food and movies. I wonder how amazing my meal would have to be to get a guy to watch all the crap I consume? Like what meal makes Pretty Little Liars acceptable?

    The food looks delicioso!

  2. Julip Made says:

    Dear Sabra,

    We will now be eating this tonight.

    Sincerely,

    Julie’s Tummy

    PS. I think I will only comment in this format from now on… technically your fault!

  3. elizabeth says:

    Is this turning into a cooking blog? If so, I need you to become a chef to the stars because you are ridiculously talented and beautiful – you should be the next Food Network star!
    Started a giveaway today… come see…
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  4. designstiles says:

    Always looking for more excuses to cook pasta. I need new recipes too. I already gave your baguette with garlic and cilantro recipe to my husband. Boy is obsessed with cilantro.

  5. That pasta + red wine = perfection!

  6. Belen says:

    I am making this tonight for dinner! Looks delicious!

  7. bentley says:

    just wanted to say hello. love your photography and your blog. i stumbled upon your blog today through erika at small shop’s post. so glad i did!

  8. Bridget Mack says:

    This looks amazing! Your photos are like works of art! And the colors are vibrant, especially the reds. Thanks for sharing. BTW, Steve O is like my hero. Don’t hate!

  9. This looks so tasty and so fresh! I am making every dish that calls for cherry tomatoes because it is the perfect time of year for them. Nice compromise, Jackass for Twilight, not bad not bad at all. I would end up cruising the web or blogging during the Jackass movie or drinking entirely too much wine.🙂

  10. Yum this looks so delicious! Yum

  11. kristina says:

    wow!! this looks SO good ~ my kind of meal! your photos look gorgeous! and i know what you’re saying about jackass ~ my husband loves those movies😐
    xx ~ kristina

  12. mmm this looks so pretty and colorful:)

Leave a Reply

