Summer Reading List

I have two very expensive hobbies: wine drinking and book reading. I usually do both at the same time so the cost is double. Shockingly, the Husband is much more supportive of my reading than he is of my drinking, which is why he recently got me a Kindle. I still plan to buy hard copies of really good books I covet (because I like to hoard the written word), but the Kindle is definitely my go to for most titles.

Here are a few of my fav summer reads…some I’ve read multiple times (Summer Sisters), some are the best short stories written on earth (The Complete Fiction of Nella Larsen), and one literally changed my life (The Omnivore’s Dilemma). My recommendations are so much better than the New York Times so trust me and read these!

Summer Sisters, Judy Blume
The History of Love, Nicole Krauss
One Day, David Nicholls
The Complete Fiction of Nella Larsen
The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan
Blink, Malcolm Gladwell
Bossypants, Tina Fey
Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
How Did You Get This Number, Sloane Crosley

Also, I just found the best website ever. It gives you book recommendations based on ones you like. Go check it.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve never seen that book matching website before but you have just given me a prize by showing that! And I thank you.🙂

  2. Still haven’t gotten one, but I admit, I love reading an actual book. Not used to the idea yet of giving it up!

    Loved One Day – trailer doesn’t look great tho. Anne H. accent is terrible and I pictured a much hotter guy in the role of Dex (like Jude Law or that new Superman guy from The Tudors). We shall see!

    Currently reading Something Blue after seeing Something Borrowed. I like!

  3. I’m totally scooping up Bossy Pants, everyone is raving, this is a bandwagon I’m jumping in. I’m a book hoarder too and have yet to give into the kindle, but I might have to purchase one soon to consolidate space in my luggage for summer traveling. If i had to make a choice btw another pair of shoes or another book, I have a feeling the shoes would win. Kindle it is!!!

    Great reading list.🙂

  4. Alena says:

    Oh, I love the Kindle and it is getting expensive!! I just read Summer Sisters a few weeks ago on vacation and LOVED it. Definitely going to check out the other books too!

  5. oh i LOVE judy blume ~ i’ve read all of her books when i was growing up ~ will have to check these out ~ thanks for all of the recos!!
    xo ~ kristina😉

  6. I really want to ready bossypants – I am a HUGE Tina Fey fan!!!

  7. Belen says:

    This is so helpful S! I have been looking for a good Summer read. Going to check out that website. I’ve also been dying to read Tina Fey’s book, heard it’s great!

  8. elizabeth says:

    I got the Kindle the month it came out and read on it every single night. I never thought I would be so addicted but it is so easy to finish something and just download something else immediately instead of going to a store. Also, if you read quickly and have tons of books stacked up and wasting space it is perfect. What is the Omnivore’s Dilemma about? Can’t wait to read some of these – I loved Summer Sisters too!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

    • I average about a book a week so the Kindle is key to a zen environment😉 Omnivore’s Dilemma is about food! More like where our food comes from. Not preachy in the slightest. Just interesting and educational as hell. The first part is a tad slow and then it’s freaking awesome.

Leave a Reply

