Zucchini “Meat” Balls

Sounds appetizing huh? The sacrifices I make for my farm animal friends. These veggie balls are time consuming and almost worth the afternoon I spent slaving over them. I adapted the recipe from my current fav cookbook, Fresh From the Garden. The recipe calls for frying the balls. I changed up some of the ingredients and baked them instead. Then I whipped up a special sauce (also from the cookbook) and served with whole wheat spaghetti. Although it probably would’ve been better with spiced basmati rice. You live and you learn.




Zucchini “meat” balls:

1/2 cup finely chopped onion
3 medium zucchinis
1/2 tsp salt
1 hot green chili, chopped
2 tblsp chopped cilantro or flat leaf parsley
1 egg
1 cup breadcrumbs

Mix all of the above together and roll into little balls. Bake at 375 degrees until browned. Add to the sauce (recipe below), cover and simmer for 6 to 7 minutes spooning the sauce over the balls as they cook.

Sauce:

1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 tblsp olive oil
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp coriander
cayenne pepper to taste
1/2 lb tomatoes, peeled and chopped
1 cup non fat greek yogurt
1/2 tsp garam masala

Brown onions in oil, add spices. Stir and add tomatoes. Bring to boil and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes. Add remaining ingredients. Season with salt and pepper.

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Zucchini “Meat” Balls

  1. […] Baked zucchini “meat” balls […]

  2. carey says:

    At what temp and how long did you bake your Zucchini “meat” balls?

  3. Belen says:

    Great pictures S! I just ordered that cook book! Can you please come over and cook this delicious meal!?

  4. Vanessa says:

    How did you know I am obsessed with zucchini? Those look yum.

  5. Julie says:

    PS. you should list the mandatory glass of red wine I see in the picture on the ingredients list…

  6. Julie says:

    Baked balls, fried balls, and special sauces… oh Sabra you keep me entertained and fed (at least visually). I don’t know if I have your patience for the afternoon’s worth of work, but this recipe looks perfect for an al fresco summer meal!

  7. Great pictures!! Can’t wait to try these veggie meat balls (I recently stopped eating meat again). Hope you’re having a great day!

  8. elizabeth says:

    You are such an amazing cook! I hate veggies and standing and doing things, so basically I cannot make this dish. Please send it to me in a box.
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  9. once again I am compelled to ask, do you deliver?!? hehe

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

Leave a Reply

