DIY Bubble Chandy: Results

I have a tendency to be a little melodramatic so my memory of the DIY bubble chandelier saga is probably a tad exaggerated. On Memorial Day, instead of barbequing like normal Americans, we tied dozens of small knots around glass globes, braided rope, clustered shit and even shocked ourselves while working on the electrical wiring.

It took a total of several hours, one mini fight, one major fight, and then a lot of love and support as the Husband attempted to hang the damn thing at 9:00 at night. I teetered on an unstable ghost chair and aimed a flashlight whilst cooing words of encouragement. End result: the chandy is done and looks alright. BUT THE MOTHER EFFER DOESN’T LIGHT. There’s a problem with the wiring and we know how to fix it.  But now I’m not even sure if I really like it.

The Husband stated it perfectly when he said “it doesn’t add enough drama to the room.” The clear bubble chandy is too understated and smaller than I anticipated. So either I keep something I’m not crazy about just because I nearly lost a finger making it or I buy something I like and kiss $50 and an entire afternoon goodbye.

What do you think?

Tagged , , ,

24 thoughts on “DIY Bubble Chandy: Results

  1. […] gave up DIY-ing earlier this year, but if you’re up for it, here’s a creative Peter Pan collar […]

  2. Nikki Kelly says:

    Get it to light up before you get rid of it! I made one of these a few years ago, it was a tutorial in Ready Made (rip) and when it’s lit up it casts the most beautiful shadows on the walls. Kinda like being inside of a bubbling aquarium.

    Just give it a shot!

  3. […] been lightless since the bubble chandelier debacle a few months ago and I finally took Elizabeth’s advice and opted to add more natural […]

  4. Holly says:

    Regardless of where you hang it, it’s still adorable and I think you and your hubby deserve pats on the back! I love it!

  5. Debbie says:

    A bit too late for me to weigh in, but you’ve made the right decision – it doesn’t have enough drama for that area but nonetheless its lovely, and I’m seriously impressed that you and your husband managed to make it with only one mini and one major fight!!! Hang it somewhere else – I love the idea above of hanging it in a corner of your bedroom over your reading chair.

  6. noelani says:

    This sounds like something I would totally attempt and then drag my husband into. I like how you think! I love the ghost chairs and the light fixture as well!! Amazed by your craftiness and expertise.

  7. Amanda says:

    No don’t trash it. So cute, good job! Just find a better place for it. Create a nook if you don’t gave one. I’m picturing it over an armed chair, hanging lower, maybe off of a side wall extension instead of from the high ceilings.

  8. Belen says:

    You deserve a metal or some sort of award for building that S and James too. I do think it needs to be a little bigger. But A+ for making it!

  9. […] you all for confirming my doubts about the bubble chandelier yesterday. I won’t throw it away, but there aren’t many other places to hang it in our tiny […]

  10. I’m proud of you! That took serious dedication. But if you don’t like it, scrap it. Look at it as a bonding experience!

    xox Lexi
    Glitter & Pearls

  11. kristina says:

    i can tell that you both put sooo much hard work, sweat & tears into it, so NICE JOB!! it is a tad small, maybe leave it up for a while and let it marinate. maybe you guys will decide that you like it, and if not, well, you will have some time to think of a replacement. but i must say that i’m impressed, i could never pull that off!!
    xo ~ kristina
    http://beancakes.wordpress.com/

  12. Rebecca June says:

    I understand the agony of not being happy after all that time, BUT it’s a tad too small.

    xoxo,

    Rebecca June

  13. So impressed and love the roping. But I might have to agree, it doesn’t get enough glory in the room, perhaps a smaller one. Find a room where nothing will upstage it.🙂

  14. WOW, job well done! It breaks my heart to think you’d toss it! I’m sure you can find somewhere else to put it, right?

    And hire an electrician or handyman this time! I’ve learned my lesson. So worth the $$. (I write this as I stare at a pendant lamp that hasn’t been installed yet…)

  15. Julie says:

    I think it looks great, but the glass baubles paired with the ghost chairs is a little bit too much translucent-ness for one room. I think something with a bit more weight (color or mass) would look perfect. I agree with Alex, maybe a bathroom or your reading nook…

  16. elizabeth says:

    Oh, girl – I don’t think you should toss something you put heart and soul into – but you do need another texture, since the clear balls and the clear chairs are too much clear, and it is quite small. How about putting that in a bathroom or hallway or over your reading window nook in your bedroom and just doing a white paper lantern over the table for now? I am so proud of you guys for doing it!
    -e

    • Thanks Liz! I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me that it would be too much with the clear chairs, but it was a lesson learned the hard way. I’ll think about another place to put it. Thanks for your encouragement!

  17. I hate to even chime in because I’m so impressed but I think I have to agree, not enough size or drama. Hang it in a bathroom or closet??

  18. well you guys did a good job nonetheless…I do think it needs to be a bit bigger tho…

Leave a Reply

