Chili Cilantro Garlic Bread


I’ve  reintroduced myself to the oven again since I swore off anything starchy last month, and this was one of the first delicacies I attempted out of my new favorite cookbook Fresh From the Garden, which divides recipes by season. I’m cooking my way through the Spring section. (last recipe attempted here). Garlic, chilis, cilantro and bread top my list of favorite foods. I substituted real butter with Earth Balance to make it slightly less heart attack-inducing and served with corn chowder. This would also make for a perfect party hors d’œuvre if you slice the bread all the way through and top with the garlic, chili and cilantro — a different take on traditional bruschetta.

Recipe:
1 baguette
1/2 cup softened butter
2-3 garlic cloves, crushed
bunch of cilantro chopped
1 red chili pepper, seeded and chopped
1 tblsp lemon juice
grated lemon zest
salt and pepper
Preheat oven to 350. Slice baguette at intervals without cutting all the way through. Mix together all ingredients and spread between cuts. Wrap bread in foil and bake for 10 minutes, or until butter is melted. Raise oven temp to 400, open foil and bake for another 5 minutes.
Tagged , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Chili Cilantro Garlic Bread

  1. Alena says:

    This looks so amazing!! I can’t wait to make it super spicy so that my husband won’t eat any of it and then I’ll have a good reason to eat an entire loaf of bread myself.

  2. Aubrey says:

    Okay, even if I didn’t already love you after your fantastic guest post and this fab recipe…I would definitely be head-over-heels after perusing the blog, lovin’ it! Looking forward to more fabulousness…(c:

  3. AQ says:

    Butter is butter. I don’t care what they call it…I think you should re-watch Food, Inc. mini.

  4. mini says:

    that looks amazing! i use earth balance too. aq needs to lay off me or learn to love oatmeal😉

  5. this looks good and relatively simple:) I love spicy things!

  6. homestilo says:

    This looks so yummy…and surprisingly doable, may have to try it.

Leave a Reply

