Breezy DIY: Lamp and Vase

I have a not so simple DIY lighting project to look forward to in the coming weeks to replace the boring chandelier that currently exists in my dining room. I hunted and gathered all the pieces, but just need the time and the Husband’s muscles and brain to put it together (have I convinced you to help yet Husband?) 

Until then, here’s an easier way to freshen up an old lamp frame. I love the breezy feel to this, don’t you? This DIY is courtesty of IKEA’s book on textures.

Now for another très simple DIY — wrap a boring vase with strips of salvaged textile and voilà! A fresh home for fresh flowers. Courtesy of  my favorite Swedish blog, hem.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Breezy DIY: Lamp and Vase

  1. I had no idea IKEA did books! What great inspiration but I know yours will be stunning!

  2. Oh, I love that first DIY lamp frame but I’m more excited to see what you and the husband come up with!

    xox Lexi
    Glitter & Pearls

  3. Ohh cant wait to see what you make.

  4. Julie says:

    I love that vase idea and the fact that you can completely customize it in terms of the color/ patter scheme. Can’t wait to see the light fixture! I have a DIY pendant that I created for the old place that now doesn’t fit in the new one, so I may be in the market for another DIY.

  5. elizabeth says:

    oooh, love that vase! Can’t wait to see the finished light fixture – am already imagining it over your table – it’s gonna be amazing!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

