Spring Equinox

In my world, the arrival of Spring is always marked by Persian New Year. We decorate our tables with symbols of health, wealth and life, adorn ourselves with new clothes, eat sweets, jump over fire, and accept money from our elders. My idea of a perfect holiday. Happy Norooz!

Also, the winner of my giveaway is  Julie who just moved into a new apartment  and needs decorating help! Congratulations Julie (I’ll be emailing you shortly). And a huge thank you to Lizzie from Homegrown Interiors for sponsoring the giveaway!

Images: sofreh haft-seen; painted eggs; sabzeh (wheat sprouts); dried fruits and nuts. sources unknown.

Tagged , ,

14 thoughts on “Spring Equinox

  1. susan says:

    So beautiful.I am so proud of you.Happy New Year my love.

  2. can I come eat some of this feast with you?! you’re making me hungry and it’s only 9 am:)

  3. elizabeth says:

    Sabrasonic: I have traced my ancestry back to the year 1126 and I found a Persian princess who was briefly engaged to one of my Scottish forefathers. Score! Happy New Year!!
    e

  4. Happy Persian New Year!

  5. Julie says:

    Ahhh yay! Thank you so much Sabra for this awesome give away! My new space is in dire need of some TLC. It might be a while, but I will definitely send you before and afters.

    Happy Spring!
    ~ Julie

  6. Vanessa says:

    Hmmm, that really does sound like a great holiday! Those eggs are gorgeous, too.

  7. Belen says:

    I love this post! And Persian New Year sounds like a fabulous Holiday to me!

Leave a Reply

