Purple Kale Tacos and Bloody Margaritas

Purple kale is my new favorite vegetable. It’s aesthetically pleasing and sends my taste buds aquiver. I know I risk sounding like a douche (although the word “aquiver” already qualifies me), but you guys, I can’t get enough of the surprises that come in my bi-weekly produce box from our local CSA. Purple kale, red potatoes, fresh cilantro and blood oranges! I used my lack of culinary skills to throw together these tacos and blood orange margaritas. I didn’t use a recipe so I’ll try to remember exactly what I did in case you want to try this at home.

Tacos:

1 Small onion coarsely chopped (red, white, yellow…whatever makes you happy)
1 bunch purple kale
2 red potatoes diced small (unpeeled)
2 cups of loosely packed cilantro
1 can of black beans
1 tbsp of olive oil

Saute the onions and potatoes in olive oil for about 15 minutes. Add a splash of water if potatoes start sticking to the pan. Add a little cumin and smoked paprika. Throw in the kale, black beans and cilantro and cook covered for about 10 minutes (until potatoes are tender). Serve on a whole grain tortilla, top with sliced avocado and cilantro and eat it.

The Husband’s reaction to my concoction — “if I had ordered this meal in a restaurant, I’d be ecstatic.” Best compliment ever right?

Blood Orange Margaritas:

Tequila of your choice (we used El Agave Silver and it was delic!)
4 blood oranges
2 limes
Splash of cointreau

I don’t know bar speak, but you basically just mix everything together and serve over ice. Garnish with cilantro. Oh and don’t forget to rim the glass with salt.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Purple Kale Tacos and Bloody Margaritas

  1. […] as it was to trade in the tropics for my cubicle, it’s nice to be home with the dogs and eat unfried food. I’m putting together a long post or two with photos and details of our holiday and that […]

  2. This sounds unbelievable! If I wasn’t so damn tired and lazy right now I’d run to the store and make it tonight. Hmmm, I’ll just have to settle for a regular orange margarita.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I’m definitely running out of steam from over doing it on the projects- if you couldn’t tell. I’m loving your blog and style and off to enjoy more.
    Have a great rest of the weekend!
    -Danika

  3. Do you deliver??? I’m not vegetarian but can’t get enough veggies! These look mouth-watering!

  4. Damn those looks delicious! Recipe saved

  5. Belen says:

    I can’t wait to make this! Looks delicious!
    You guys decided o a destination for ur vacation yet??

  6. joAnn says:

    ooh, yummy and healthy…looks delish!

    xo,
    joAnn @ http://idratherbeshopping.wordpress.com

  7. Babygirl says:

    I haven’t cooked to much with purple kale but thanks to your recipe I know what to do with it, These tacos look sooo yummy and I love the drink recipe to go along with it. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

