Lovefest 2011

I lied to all of you when I said we weren’t big on Valentines Day. In truth, we celebrated with a vengeance.


via Etsy

I wasn’t expecting the Husband to get me anything, but we both recently read Gary Chapman’s “The Five Love Lanuages” and he’s making a serious attempt at speaking my primary love language: receiving gifts. 

He gave me a Kindle. If you know me even a litte bit, you know I should have been a test rat for the Kindle. It was distressing that I, who doesn’t leave home without reading material, was Kindle-less. I finally got one thank God. And flowers too.

In turn,  I’m trying to speak the Husband’s languages. He’s multilingual. We shared an egg white hash and blackberry muffin at our fav cafe in Solana Beach, worked off our breakfast with a four-mile hike in the wilderness, soothed our aching limbs with a dip in the spa and then folded laundry whilst watching the Grammys. It really was the perfect Valentines Day.

I also should add that I have the best mom in the world. For reals. She always finds a way to show me I’m her favorite child and also speaks my love language fluently. She got me the cutest apron and a fantastic bottle of wine. I love you mom and Husband!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lovefest 2011

  1. […] is much more supportive of my reading than he is of my drinking, which is why he recently got me a Kindle. I still plan to buy hard copies of really good books I covet (because I like to hoard the written […]

  2. My mama is the best at my love languages too – she always sends me a Valentine’s happy!I got the Kindle the second it came out and have been addicted to it ever since – you will love it!
    Happy V day!
    Elizabeth (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  3. joAnn says:

    what a sweet husband! sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate…happy vday, love!

    xo,
    joAnn @ http://idratherbeshopping.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

