Mac & Cheese All Grown Up

While the rest of the country was watching the Super Bowl on Sunday, I was busy tweeting about anything but the Super Bowl and spray painting my flea market candlesticks (results to come soon). But I did manage to make a yum mac and cheese dish for the Husband before he left me to go watch the game with people who actually care about football.

Mac and cheese instantly brings to mind the infamous blue box that gave me nourishment plus 30 lbs in college. But now that I’m no longer a starving student, I can afford to recreate the poor version with three cheeses and panko bread crumbs (because it’s more exotic than white bread). 

Are there any college cheap foods you like to remix?

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Mac & Cheese All Grown Up

  1. Danika says:

    Ooooh! I’ve never made mac’n’cheese (been relying on the infamous blue box for far too long)… this recipe looks like a contender! Thanks for sharing🙂

  2. […] Remember eating boxed mac and cheese back in college and loving it? Well, Sabra over at The Lonely Wife Project (her hubby’s busy getting his masters right now!) adapts a Martha Stewart recipe for the dish by adding a little bit of that “poor version” charm in Mac and Cheese All Grown Up. […]

  3. ManWifeDog says:

    YUM!! I love the pictures and the reminiscing! I too gained a couple care of Kraft back in my college days! LOVE YOUR BLOG!

  4. Milla says:

    Are these your own photographs? Amazing! I love macaroni cheese but haven’t had it in years. Will definitely give it a try again.

Leave a Reply

