(Wo)Man Cave

Remember this room?

Now it looks a little more like this…

Ugly

Not as ugly

I had no intention of redecorating our loft space, but my cousin was moving out of her apartment and had some furniture to get rid of and I couldn’t let the opportunity pass by. A couple of coats of chalkboard paint, a new couch and armchair and some accessories completely turned the once overcrowded room into a less overcrowded room. There are still a few things left to do like draw on the walls and insert a bookshelf along the back of the space, but overall I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

The Husband refuses to have me go on calling the loft a man cave though. Acoording to him, the pink pillow officially converts the space into female territory. So despite my orginally trying to create a nicer place for the Husband to enjoy football games, I inadvertantly turned it into my own haven where I can sip wine and watch Sex and the City in peace. Amen.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “(Wo)Man Cave

  1. […] have cooking plans, drinking plans, family plans, dog walking plans, drawing on my new chalkboard wall plans and planning a trip to Brazil […]

  2. Tammy McLeod says:

    I love the dimension that the chalkboard paint added to the room. Nice job. I have no talent at that sort of thing and love seeing the solutions of people who do.

  3. Claire says:

    It looks awesome! Do you want to come down when my hubby goes to spring training and help me with the baby’s room? Small space, needs to be fun for me, not necessarily the baby yet, but still support all the baby stuff. Sounds like an excellent challenge for you.🙂

  4. Neana says:

    love the room, you really transformed it and you make me want to paint every wall black! the furniture has never looked better😉
    ps. love the blog!!!

  5. Jacqueline says:

    Hi! Loved the transformation and can’t wait to see what you do next! I showed the pic to my husband and he loved the leather chair and ottoman. Would you be able to tell us where you got it from?

    Keep up the great work, love the blog!

    • Jacqueline, thanks for stopping by! The chair and ottoman are from a store called Tuesday Morning. That’s where my cousin originally purchased before I snagged it from her. I think you can find similar ones at Home Goods. Hope that helps.

  6. Lol glad you turned it into your own haven! Love the decorating. I think it looks much better this way🙂.

  7. Lizzie says:

    I have that same giant dog cage that at one point I turned into a dog cage/end table because I was so limited on space. It’s a hard piece to decorate around ,but you hardly notice it with your new layout…love it!

  8. joAnn says:

    haha, it looks great! the chalkboard paint is awesome!! great job lovey!

    xo

  9. Ann says:

    I spent last week with the chalkboard paint too. In my living room. I love the way it looks and Ned to be careful not to put it on every wall in the house. Isn’t it amazing how fresh and crisp it makes everything look? I didn’t get to insert any new furniture yet, but my husband is now on board to at least start looking at new sofas. You did a great job in your (wo)man space! We seem to have similar taste, maybe you would help me make a decision on my sofa. I’m having a hard time committing to “the one”! It feels like choosing one dress to wear for the next five years.

Leave a Reply

