Vegetarian Stuffing

Stuffing is my favorite Thanksgiving indulgence, but I’m a vegetarian and most stuffing is made with poultry broth. I was ready to forgo this treat altogether this year when I spotted a French baguette in my kitchen that the Husband and I miraculously hadn’t eaten. I foraged my fridge and came out with celery, carrots, leeks, fresh thyme, rosemary and parsley. Forty minutes later and voilà, I have a perfectly simple, yet satisfying vegetarian stuffing.

I sauteed onions, celery, carrots and leeks in about 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance butter (I’m not vegan, but I love the way it tastes and it’s so much healthier). Then I added the fresh herbs, baguette cubes and a cup of veggie broth.

Once the liquid was almost soaked, I transfered to a casserole dish, topped with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese (the Husband insisted) and baked for about 30 minutes. I was afraid the final result would be a bit bland, but the French bread and herbs make all the difference. It’s pretty divine.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Vegetarian Stuffing

  1. […] 4. Is it called stuffing or dressing? Is it in the bird or a separate dish? Stuffing, and this year I want to make this vegetarian stuffing recipe from The Lonely Wife Project. […]

  2. Leah says:

    thanks for the recipe! i’m always craving stuffing at Thanksgiving and have wanted a good vegetarian version to bring to my family!

  3. […] photograph the muffins, but I promise you the others passed the test. I’ll also be making my vegetarian stuffing, which is the bomb […]

  4. April says:

    I have never had stuffing either, because I am also a vegetarian. I’ve wondered about it. I won’t have time to make this today, but I definitely want to try it soon! Doesn’t gravy go with stuffing, or is that something else? LOL I have no clue about these normally meaty things. I saw the “giblet gravy” at Whole Foods the other day and was back and forth on whether or not to try it, but I am hoping it’ll go on sale after T day. Have a good one!!

  5. Tes says:

    It’s definitely a better and healthier option for thanksgiving🙂

  6. Babygirl says:

    Really cool option. Nice post. Happy Holidays

Leave a Reply

