Barbie & Ken

Would you still be my friend if I told you I played with Barbies until I reached an embarrassing age. In my defense, my cousin and I had two giant bags filled with Barbie couture so we basically dressed and accessorized the hell out of them until we got bored and moved onto watching Beaches (which we viewed a nauseating amount of times).

I have a special place in my heart for Barbie (she did teach me the importance of accessorizing after all) so you can imagine my delight when I saw this wedding album, shot by French photographer Béatrice de Guigné. de Guigné painstakingly set up each shot over the course of 3 days to mimic a real life wedding and the whole thing is cheeky and brilliant. Makes me want to bust out my Barbies!

Click here to view the rest of Barbie and Ken’s wedding album.

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Barbie & Ken

  1. Vanessa says:

    I was never too much of a Barbie fan, but I’ll still be your friend :-)
    Btw, have you seen the Black Barbie Issue from Vogue Italia?

    http://bit.ly/ddXIns

    I did a post on it last year:

    http://bit.ly/pKIMY9

  2. Oh Maiiii Gahhhh!!! Dying – this is AWESOME! Adorbs x10! I love Barbie too… and hot Ken! Who doesn’t! Love their wedding… so wish I was a guest! xoxo

  3. Lily says:

    Omg…I was Barbie crazy as well. I had way to many to even count, the dream house, cars..etc. And my parents still have the “special” Barbies saved for me…Ha ! Love this.

    xxLily
    goldandgray.com

  4. don’t worry about it! my sister and best friend used to make the barbies have sex! oops, did i just say that?! sorry. . . but we DID! didn’t everyone? ;) :0
    xo ~ ks

  5. Sooo…I was never into Barbie if you can believe it. I was a total tomboy! But these remind me of the stop-motion animations on lundby.com. Check those out. Creepy.

  6. designstiles says:

    And yes, this is so awesome.

  7. designstiles says:

    Of course I’d still be your friend. And then I’d ask you to play with me. I kid you not, I was kinda tempted to have a grown-up play with Barbies party. Mine were all headless. Don’t ask.

  8. Belen says:

    OMG this is amazing! And don’t worry, I played with my Barbies till a very embarrassing age too. I had over 100 and a Barbie house. I was obsessed. I wish I was a kid again so I could bust them out.

  9. Amanda Hill says:

    So fun, I can’t believe someone photographer a barbie wedding! Was it you?

  10. Lana says:

    This is just so cute – I love it!

  11. Bon Marché says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE this! Great find!

  12. elizabeth says:

    I loved the couture for Barbie and still do. My friend and I moved on from that to the movie Stealing Home with Jodie Foster. Super embarrassing. We would watch it every weekend!
    -e (modern24seven.blogspot.com)

  13. Naomi says:

    I used to babysit in high school and play Barbie’s with this 5 year old girl. I had to have the best Barbie and the best clothes and she willingly took the reject. So not only am I probably worse than you, I’m also quite evil.

    This is cute!

  14. this is too freaking adorable. I loved Barbies and can’t wait till I can play with them again when I have kids:)

  15. Too cute! I still love minature things to this day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

