What I Ate This Weekend

On Saturday I made my own version of a gorgeous chopped Greek bean salad courtesy of Bri Emery. I traded in one block of feta for buffalo mozzarella (it’s what I had in my fridge) and threw in some zucchini and any other vegetable that struck my fancy. My salad  would more aptly be called a chopped Italian bean salad. I’ve decided to have an affair with cannellini beans. Chickpeas just aren’t doing it for me anymore.


Then on Sunday, the Husband (who pretty much has weekend breakfast duty) made me his grandpa’s famous Swedish pancakes, which are essentially delightful sweet crepes. I like to fold it into fourths, drizzle real maple syrup all over and top it off with strawberries. I’m still talking about breakfast.


And for dinner…a frozen pizza. Yes, I said FROZEN PIZZA! Sometimes, I can’t bear to cook (like on nights when True Blood and Entourage are on back to back) so I keep a cheese pizza in the freezer for those occasions. I do, however, dress it up with vegetables. In this case, it was zucchini, jalapenos, bell peppers and onion.

All images by me.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “What I Ate This Weekend

  1. You always get me with your delish food photos! Crepes sounds amazing, I will usually splurge on that when we go out for breakfast (which is rare). I love the idea of adding ingredients to a frozen cheese pizza! Gone are the days when my husband would make me pizzas from scratch. Boo.

  2. it all looks delish. we often spice up a frozen pizza too. i top it with arugula and prosciutto. thanks for reminding me to blog about that!

  3. Yum. Yum. Yum! I’m still majorly crushing on chickpeas. I just can’t get enough!! And sometimes, a frozen pizza just hits the spot like a delivery/homemade version can’t… ;)

  4. That looks like the tastiest frozen pizza I’ve ever seen!

  5. elizabeth says:

    I desperately want your hubby to make those crepes for me. Desperately. Deranged crazy psycho desperate.
    Got it?
    -e

  6. Julip Made says:

    Consider your affair with cannellini beans a love triangle… I just made a cannellini/ artichoke/ rosemary spread last night for a simple dinner. Also no judgement here on the frozen pizza. We often either do the preformed fresh pizza’s from Whole Foods or the frozen Trader Joe’s pizzas and add toppings. TJ’s black truffle and wildmushroom pizza makes my top 5 best pizza’s lists, and it’s frozen.

  7. designstiles says:

    I love your pictures. The colors in these are so pretty.
    I eat frozen pizza too, so no judgment from me. : )

  8. Amanda Hill says:

    How come I wasn’t invited over? Those look deeelishhh :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

