Fennel Overdose

The Husband and I are part of a Community Sponsored Agriculture (CSA) program, which means we get organic produce from a local farm delivered to us bi-weekly. I recommend you look into joining a local CSA. We spend less than we did at the grocery store and I’m forced to make my meals around whatever is in season so it quenches my creative thirst. I’m always being introduced to things I wouldn’t normally cook with, like fennel.

It was cold last week so comfort food was a necessity. I used the fennel I got from the CSA with other ingredients in my kitchen to throw together a fennel and white bean soup. I started by sautéing onions, garlic, fennel and carrots and added some spices for flavor. Be creative with your spices and add whatever taste you’re in the mood for. I used cumin and oregano and later some fresh basil.  Then I added a can of diced tomatoes and veggie broth and let the soup simmer, covered, for about 30 minutes. Next, I added white kidney beans (use whatever white bean you have on hand) and chopped chard and let that simmer for another 10 minutes or so. Season with salt and pepper, add fresh basil and serve to your grateful Husband.

I decided I liked fennel so much that I used the remainder to make a fennel and fresh herb risotto on Sunday night. I used the same tactic as with my other risotto, just substituted with vegetables and herbs I had on hand. It was ridic. Husband wants to renew our vows.

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Fennel Overdose

  1. [...] as much as going to the DMV so getting my produce pre-selected and delivered to my door (via a CSA program) is one of life’s greatest [...]

  2. [...] started by sauteeing onions, garlic, carrots and some kind of spicy Mexican pepper that came in my CSA box last week. I added some chile powder and cardamom and probably some other spices (I can’t [...]

  3. Tammy McLeod says:

    Fennel is absolutely my favorite. Yours looks great.

  4. Tracey says:

    Will make!

    Love that i’ve found someone else who prefers to say Ridic! What a great ‘word!’ he he

  5. Avdelingen says:

    Looks yummy! We have the same sort of arrangment like CSA here in Stavanger, Norway as well. They’ll also provide you with otherkinds of organic food like meat, spisces etc…

  6. Belen says:

    This looks delicious S!
    I must look into CSA.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

